IGNORED

Is a multicolored score possible?

rollins215

Hello all, I'm new to batari basic and am working on my first project. One thing I'd really like to do is to use the scoreboard to keep track of 2 different scores, one for each player. I was able to do this by adding a blank to score_graphics.asm, but I haven't been able to find a way to have the score digits have different colors. Is this possible to do? It doesn't appear to be looking at the online documentation so I was wondering if there is an include file or something that can be hacked to accomplish this. I'd like the score for each player be the same color as their onscreen counterpart.

Thanks for any help!

Hello all, I'm new to batari basic and am working on my first project. One thing I'd really like to do is to use the scoreboard to keep track of 2 different scores, one for each player. I was able to do this by adding a blank to score_graphics.asm, but I haven't been able to find a way to have the score digits have different colors. Is this possible to do? It doesn't appear to be looking at the online documentation so I was wondering if there is an include file or something that can be hacked to accomplish this. I'd like the score for each player be the same color as their onscreen counterpart.

If you're going to have two blanks in the middle of the score to create two separate two-digit scores, then you might be able to create a custom kernel that changes the player0 and player1 colors while the score is being displayed. I'll look into it tonight.

Michael

Dunno about Batari Basic, because I have zero experience with it. But it's accomplished in assembly by setting bit 1 on (and bit 2 off) in CTRLPF. The playfield-score on following scanlines will use COLUP0 and COLUP1's colors on the left and right halves of the screen - regardless of what COLUPF holds.