IGNORED

carina II BBS game -- Zenobia - how?

I'm a total newbie in this forum. If this question has an answer I'd appreciate an answer.

When I was a teenager I used to play a game called Zenobia on a local south florida BBS. I finally found a copy of it but have no idea how to set it up on my computer to play. is it possilbe?

I have the file Zenobia.arc

i've tried looking up how to open up .arc files but I read something about typing in a dos window and other than that I can't figure it out. Any help would PLEASE be appreciated. If I haven't given enough information needed to have you help, please lemme know what I need to provide. I run windows XP unfortunately (will be on a MAC as soon as I'm out of grad school - i hate windows) lol.

I am looking to be able to set up the game and play at home. thanks everyone!

nurse

More than likely it is a plugin to a BBS program like Forum XE or some of the others. I dont know the BBS stuff much, but ran one on my 1030 for abrief time loooong ago.

I would presume you would need to get the BBS software running, plug Zenobia in as a module and then access the system as the Admin where you could plag the game like you were online.

You would need to run it in a Carina II BBS environment--I doubt you'd be able to get it to run standalone. So the first thing you'll need to do is find a copy of Carina II. I assume Carina II will run in one of the various Atari 8-bit computer emulators, but I have never tried to do that. I'm sure others have, though. You'll therefore need an 8-bit emulator for Windows. Once you get that installed and running, you'll then need to install Carina II, and finally install Zenobia. You can then login to the BBS in "local" mode and play the game that way.

I used to run a Carina II BBS, but not sure I've ever tried Zenobia. A friend and I wrote the game "RoboWar II" for Carina II, and that's something I'd like to personally play with again someday. :)

..Al

• Like 1