IGNORED

Aaron's Joystick Project - Development

atari_aaron

Ok, the 5200 joysticks weren't very good. I want to change that.

As a student I have access to high tech equipment used to develop rapid prototype/machinable 3D models.

We have AutoCAD, Maya, Geomagic (http://www.geomagic.com/), (http://www.innovmetric.com/) Polyworks, and three 3D laser scanners.

In my spare time, I am willing to develop the body/case of a new joystick that could compatible with all 2600/5200/7800 systems if there is someone out there who will develop the internal electronics for it. I could probably spare some time to design small parts if necessary too, but it would be nice if the guts could be made with off the shelf parts (or parts from other newer system joysticks - aka - Nintendo 64/Playstation).

I am also willing to develop a case for the new Atari 2600-on-chip if the person making it is interested.

I am serious about this, anyone who is also truely serious about helping can email me directly or post here. Anyone who cannot contribute, but who would like to the idea move forward, please post here to show your support.

Thanks,

Aaron

I've been working onmaking an adapter to connect Playstation controllers to Atari 2600, 7800, and NES (no relation to the recently released 5200 Master Control (I think that is what it is called) device). I'm planning on emulating all the 2600 controller types, and I'm finishing up code for the first emulation tests. Still, it is complex code, so I don't think I'll be connecting it to my 7800 for at least 2 weeks.

If this project goes well, I'll be able to help with controller innards from off the self parts. However, I do not have access to any of those CAD gizmos. I wouldn't even know how to use them.

Viso,