IGNORED

colecovision video problems

bah

I'm new to colecovision but I am trying to refurb a broken console. The unit boots to the main screen but the words and graphics are messed up. With a cartridge in (donkey kong) the sound is clear and you can see the game in demo mode, but can't play it.

The power switch is clean.

Any ideas or on-line service manuals out there?

Thanks

bah

I'm new to colecovision but I am trying to refurb a broken console. The unit boots to the main screen but the words and graphics are messed up. With a cartridge in (donkey kong) the sound is clear and you can see the game in demo mode, but can't play it.

Thanks

bah

Can you post a picture?

Does it boot to the garbled mess even with a cartridge out?

If it looks good with the cartridge out then suspect a dirty slot or cart.

If not, check the power supply, switch, and the 4116 DRAM ICs.

Raymond

Raymond,

Thanks for the reply. I have a second console that plays fine with the same power supply, so I ruled that out. Next I took the switch apart and cleaned it as well as unbent the contact sliders slightly for a good connection, but the problem persists.

The initial boot screen always looks the same or nearly so. The words are partly scrambled letters, mostly readable but a few are nonsense shapes. There is also a dark vertical line through each letter. Screen reads:

PORJ CAIA KBB

BABKRA IJSARPIJC CARPRI@CA

KR AXPAJSIKJ IK@QHA*

1982 CKHACK

I can't get a pic up tonight but perhaps you could guide me to locate and test the 4116 DRAM IC. Is this a common failure and are parts avialable?

Thanks again,

Brent

I checked my site and it says I'm out of those... I'll double-check inventory tonight and update the site.

Yes, the MM5290 and the D416 are the same as a generic 4116 part number.

Be careful when removing the old chip as you DO NOT want to lift a trace or pull out a plated thru hole.