IGNORED

Where did you learn how to repair/mod systems?

RickO2

No specific knowledge about video games, but electronics was first a hobby. Then I got a college degree in the field. Now it's back to mainly being a hobby.

I haven't seen much yet on these old video games that an understanding of digital electronics and general deductive reasoning skills wouldn't be able to address. And patience. And help from the knowledgeable people on the forums here.

Everything I know about electronics I learned myself - from reading manuals and schematics and taking things apart. I've been tinkering with electronics for years. I collect obsolete computers, old video games, and other interesting old technology (think vacuum tubes...). And to me, half the fun of this stuff is the tecnical side of it. I can't just leave well enough alone - I want to know how it works - why it works. And, compared some of these old computer systems, the Atari is dead simple. :D

-Ian

I'm with Ian.

Self taught on most everything tech related. It's my fun time.

If I were you, I would get some simple electronics kits, build them, then mod them. This gets you some basic skills. How to solder (and do get an iron that has variable temp --I'm needing one myself. Old stuff is touchy. Found that out the last coupla weekends!), how to read a schematic, what components are what, and what they do.

Simple electricity theory can be learned by dealing with the kits, reading their theories of operation, and though lots and lots of electronics related books, online articles. You name it.

The designer of the Propeller Chip I'm facinated with right now is completely self taught all the way down to building his own silicon. (and that makes it a cool chip because it's really different and well thought out)

Subscribe to things like MAKE (Google "make blog" for a running list of things people are making), instructables, hack a day, etc...