IGNORED

Need some help with ANTIC screen modes on the 5200, etc.

icbrkr

Okay, first off, I'm an old C64 programmer so unfortunately, I don't understand the concepts of "screen modes" the way Atari does them.

I'm messing with 5200BAS, as well as the Antic screen drawing util (which I would have killed for back in the day of C64 charset drawing :)). From what I'm understanding, I can #include this file into my PROGRAM.BAS file and it'll compile. I got this much accomplished, but how do I use this redefined character set? Or is that even what I'm looking at?

I guess more of the question I'm trying to ask is this: How do I create custom charsets, and how can I display them using 5200BAS?

I'm used to creating a charset and loading them into a spot in the C64's RAM and flipping a bit to use the newly defined charset.

Brian

It's pretty basic...

I drew the character set using the ANTIC4 tool that Calamari wrote. I outputted it to ASM, and then copied just the character set out of the file it created (in this case, called game.char).

I used an #include to import it into my code at memlocation $9000 (you have $4000-BFFF free on a 32K cart so it could have been put anywhere in this range - I used $9000 because Calamari used it in an example he had on his page). Then I used the SET command to tell 5200bas where the new character set resided at (SET CHARSET=$9000). The rest of the code is me importing a screen and copying it over to video memory ($1000) and setting up the colors for the palette.

cls

title off

'---------------------------------------------------------------------

' Main

SCREEN 4

'SET SCREEN=$B000 newscreen

SET CHARSET=$9000 basechar

PALETTE 0,$00:PALETTE 1,$B4:PALETTE 2,$A8:PALETTE 3,$72:PALETTE 4,$B0

memcopy $B000,$1000,1024

' DATA

.ORG $9000 ; ANTIC 4 character set

MAZECHAR:

#INCLUDE game.char

.ORG $b000

MAINSCREEN:

#include screen.char

I haven't a clue of what you're trying to ask :?

For everyone else -