IGNORED

Backward compatability

Atarifever

Now that I have a HDD, is my 360 backwards compatable? I sold my original Xbox and games awhile ago, and really regret it (especially at current game prices). Do I need to download anything? Anyone have an updated BC list?

Sorry to ask so many questions lately, but with a 360 HDD, I now finally feel like I have a "real" 360 for the first time.

Edited by Atarifever

Check it out:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Xbox_games_compatible_with_Xbox_360

My Xbox 360 is connected to the Internet and I put in The Incredible Hulk: Ultimate Destruction and if I remember correctly, I didn't have to do anything. I just started playing. The game did freeze up on me, though (something it doesn't do on my real Xbox).

yes and no! the 360 will play most games, but not all. keep doing updates from time to time. I sure microsoft is working on it!

According to Xbox.com, Microsoft hasn't updated the 360's Xbox compatibility since 2007. Here's the official list:

http://www.xbox.com/en-US/games/backwardcompatibilitygameslist.htm

I find it appalling that crap like The Guy Game, Futurama, Barbie Horse Adventures and Family Guy get backwards compatibility, yet great games like TimeSplitters 2 and TimeSplitters: Future Perfect do not... :x :x :x

I just noticed that House of the Dead 3 has backwards compatibility...

WTF?!?! I don't think you can even get light guns on 360. Or better yet, WHY would you find them on 360? It's designed to work with HDTVs which are at this point incompatible with old fashioned light guns which HotD 3 needs in order to work properly.

... I am just baffled...