IGNORED

Viewsonic LCD monitor repair - capacitors?

Tickled_Pink

I've just been revisiting a 19" Viewsonic LCD monitor we rescued from a skip/dumpster last year. The monitor comes on but the screen only displays for a second before going black. From what I've read, monitor problems typically stem from bad capacitors.

I've had a look again at this unit and there are three domed capacitors but no leakage from them (yet). Two are on the power board and there's another on the main logic board. I've managed to identify two (a 33uF 16V and 470uF 25V) but one has a very tight fitting rubber sheath to prevent it touching with a neighbouring component. So far I've been unable to take the rubber sheath off so might have to cut it off and maybe put some cardboard between the components when I replace the cap.

As I'm not an electronics expert, I just wanted to make sure that I'm on the right track. Should I just replace these three or should I replace all the electrolytics on the two boards?

If it comes on, then cuts off, that sounds like it's drawing to much power to turn the lamp on and shutting it off, could be a fuse....I don't know though, only LCD I ever had to work on, had the tube burned out and I replaced it with a flatlite to get a working (though crappy looking) cheap monitor back when they cost a LOT to get.

Not that I know a thing about the Viewsonic, but just in case...

I had an HP monitor that did that same behavior. It had an external power supply. The (wrong) PS that I got with it couldn't supply the current the backlight wanted. The monitor detected the resultant supply voltage sag and put itself into protection mode.

The Viewsonic has an internal power board. What you guys are saying is what I suspect is happening ... as soon as a picture is being displayed it's drawing more power than the board is generating.