IGNORED

Game Idea: Arkanoid 2600/7800

Lord-Chaos

Just asked this in the programming forum.

There is no really advanced Breakout game for the ATARI 2600 - just the very old ones - Breakout and Super Breakout.

Wouldn´t it be a good idea to create a Arkanoid-type game for the VCS , a Breakout game with enemies , different bricks , specials , extras , levels , maybe a boss like Doh in Arkanoid ?

Designed for use with paddles .

Or something like Krakout on the C64 ?

Should be possible.

Also on the ATARI 7800 .Arkanoid 1 or 2 - type games should be possible.

For the ATARI 800 there are Arkanoid (1) , Unicum (clone) , Ataroid (clone) and maybe more.

Thimo

I think there is an Arkanoid "type" game for the 2600... I just can't think of it off hand.

You may be thinking of 'Off The Wall' which is close, but not the same.

I think an Arkanoid clone would be doable, but then I'm not a programmer.

I think there is an Arkanoid "type" game for the 2600... I just can't think of it off hand.

There was Fireball for the Supercharger, where you control a juggler instead of a paddle, which, when he missed a ball, it was like an old vauldeville act: a big hook would drag him off the stage :D

There was also Jinks for the 7800, being a cross between Pong, Breakout and Jr. Pac-Man, I suppose, since the screen(s) would scroll...the playfield was the equivalent to being several screens long, side by side. You only got one ball, and the only way to lose it would be if it bounced into a set of teeth, which would eat the ball. A very weird and different game, and a bit fun too.

I love Fireball. It's really fun playing with all 6 balls at once and I love that scoring sound. Very hypnotic.