IGNORED

New Atari PC Computer?

Curt Vendel

151 members have voted

1. 1. Which case would you want a modern PC to be made into?

• Atari 800XL
    • Atari 65/130XE Case
    • Atari ST (520/1040 style) case

• Please sign in to vote in this poll.

Question ---

If there was a modern PC recreation of an Atari computer that would run Windows or Linux and could play games on it through emulation, which classic Atari case design would you choose as being the most wanted and most representative of the classic Atari to be made today???

I had to choose the 130XE. It's the Atari I have been using since 1988 (minus a short 5 or 6 year period when it was in storage). I love the clean lines and it doesn't take up much desk space. But I would gladly take any of the above three, and I will certainly not "argue" about which machine looks best.

Interesting idea. If Atari is after a retro-themed gaming computer, they would probably be served better by going with an 800XL-styled design (or, even better, an updated 400/800-styled design), since those machines are more recognizable classic computers than the 130XE or the ST series.

Either way, I'm looking forward to seeing what comes of it.

Curt...An idea

Make the system dual o/s, the main o/s for non emulation purposes, therefore encouraging software development on the new atari platform

i.e doing remakes and updated versions of classic or existing atari games, taking advantage of hard drives/ cd dvd devices and the new hardware the system will feature (in respect to updated sound and graphics hardware) as well as original gaming content, again to take advantage of the new hardware platform (so far as data access and storage is concerned as well as sound and graphics hardware)

preferably not windows, not linux, something unique to atari...but modern ofcourse