IGNORED

Writing TI994a BASIC Programs on a PC

mixedtape

Hello all...I hope this does not sound too crazy. :)

I am new to the TI994a and am looking forward to working with with a couple of neat old consoles that I picked up. Does anyone out there create their own TI BASIC programs on a PC and run them on the TI994a? How would you package them to run back on the console?

I have picked up a few accessories that could help me xfer them:

*nanoPEB with 32k memory expansion, RS232 port and CF card floppy emulator.

*cassette deck

*Extended BASIC and Terminal Emulator II cartridges.

I know these accessories will help me to run existing software from the net but I would really like to develop my own on a PC.

I downloaded CS1er and have been playing around with some of the "FIAD" files out there that have been created from tapes. I noticed that you can view the TI BASIC source code within CS1er before your create a FIAD or WAV file for output. I was hoping that there was a way to create "FIAD" or even the floppy "DSK" files from TI BASIC source via a PC.

What process would you guys suggest for accomplishing this feat? Thanks for your help!!

Use an emulator to write the stuff. Classic99 creates files directly in a directory (directory name DSK1 etc.). MESS and Win994a creates files in a disk image. Use TiDir to further manipulate the disks etc. See pinned thread called: TI-99/4A development resources. Lookup and read instructions for the individual emulator.

You save a program from within TI Basic using: SAVE DSK1.PROGNAME

Retrieve it using: OLD DSK1.PROGNAME

Classic99 has the best clipboard support, so you can basically write and edit TI Basic programs in editor of your choice (paste the lines you add and change to Classic99). MESS has paste too but has a few problems with more than one line and longer programs (putting one or more spaces in front of every line usually solves that). Win994a does not have any clipboard support.