IGNORED

Aquarius Bitmap Graphics Tool

chjmartin2

I have put together this tool to allow you to convert an 80x72 16 color bmp file into an aquarius basic program. I used Quickbasic 4.5 to do this under DOSBox because frankly, I am not a good programmer and I had found a BMP file reader for GW-Basic. (That tool is really cool too - it lets you convert 16 color bmp files into composite cga At vogons)

I wanted a way to do some graphics on my Aquarius and I couldn't find any kind of utility, so I went ahead and took on the challenge. The lack of a true graphics mode was very frustrating at first, but I figured out something that I think is really neat. If you take each character byte by byte, so for example, a full block would be 1,1,1,1,1,1 and you determine its binary value(in this case, 63) you will find that the character in the character map right before it is just one less than its binary value and so forth. The graphics characters are two sets and so if the binary value is 31 or less just add 160 to it and you can the corresponding character. If it is greater than 31 just add 192 and you'll get the corresponding character. This made conversion from a series of dots to a character very easy. (Nice job to whomever laid out the character map.)

Anyway, the converter loads in the bitmap (which must utilize the color pallette included in the package) and then determines the optimal color for each 2x3 block. (As you all know we are limited to 2 colors per character block, but at least they can be one of 16.) Then the converter looks at the color distance from each of the two it picks and assigns accordingly. (I am not sure exactly what happens in the case of 6 different colors per block and it did not impact my output, so I've chosen to blistfully ignore it for now.)