IGNORED

Aquarius programming & Emulator accuracy

barnieg

In between Atari coding challenges as I started programming on an Aquarius I'm looking at seeing what I can do now. What sort of support is there for C or Assembly cross compilers for targeting the Aquarius? Or do I have to resort to Poking Data statement values in basic? :~)

Finally as I can't see my self getting a real Aquarius how accurate are the current Emulators and what is the best one to use?

Thanks

Barnie

I've just found that z88dk supports the Aquarius that might be easier for my limited abilities at least to start :)

Have you any experience of using z88dk compared to sdcc?

thanks

Barnie

The Aquarius is Z80 based so you'd probably want to look at doing a support library for SDCC to roll your own "C" development system.

I've just found that z88dk supports the Aquarius that might be easier for my limited abilities at least to start :)

SDCC is used by the Colecovision programmers so you'd be able to ask them for some help on AA if you had any issues with it.

Have you any experience of using z88dk compared to sdcc?

No experience of SDCC or Z88DK or even the Aquarius itself. However, I program in my day job so I've plenty of compiler/system/embedded experience.

• 3 weeks later...

I've tinkered with Z88DK, getting as far as a simple "Hello World" program, but the fact that somebody created an Aquarius library for it made me more interested in looking at Z88DK than SDCC (which I've never tried).

The only problem I had with Z88DK is that its default format for compiled Aquarius software is a cassette tape image (a simple BASIC loader and a binary array). I'm much more interested in creating cartridge binaries. I'm sure it's possible to reconfigure the compiler to allow this, but I haven't looked into it again since my first simple experiments. My work on the Aquarius so far has all been in assembly.