IGNORED

Vectrex CRTs

simbalion

I'm by no means an expert, but I would like to think my tinkering with antique radios and televisions along with arcade games has given me some knowledge. When I look up repairs for Vectrex consoles, I find alot of helpful info about the circuit boards and such that can get bad connections and/or bad capacitors and such. One thing I have not seen is about the CRT itself, that tube you see all the wonderful graphics on. I guess we don't worry so much about most consoles because they can move from TV to TV, but the Vectrex has the monitor built in.

From my tinkering with old Televisions and even the arcade games I've got, I've learned that no matter the size of the CRT, they are basically a big vacuum tube and eventually, they become exhausted and die. At one time TV shops carried spared CRTs for sets as it was economical to replace an exhausted picture tube. In fact, I even have a spare for my favorite old set. That said, the Vectrex was made in a time were electronics were becoming more and more throw away and I am wondering if any spare CRTs even exist for the units. It's hard enough to come up with a CRT for an old set that was made during the time where CRT replacement was common! I know this is an issue already hitting the arcade collectors, so I think it's a good idea to figure out how to keep our beloved Vectrexes going in the future. Not trying to be all doom and gloom or alarmist, just trying to point out an issue we might all have to deal with in the future.

Add a 5" CRT to your Vectrex!

"(1) Samtron 5" amber monitor ($16.00)

(1) Wyse 50,150, or 60 yoke

(needs to be rewound, but not to hard a task) $7.00 to $12.00 new

(2) LM1875 Audio amps. Maybe $2.00 each.

Misc caps, resistors and wire.

+/-12 power supply for the monitor and new deflection.

I etched a nice pcb for the new deflection circuit that really looks and

works nice. I would recommend this to keep noise in the circuit down.