IGNORED

Sinusoid

For this series of demos I'll need a sine function. All I did for now was to create a table, and very specific to the task at hand, namely to just show/plot the function (=sine wave). I could create the table using two dimensional motion control (which I did in an earlier demo), but for now I'll be using tables. Apparently the wave is plotted in less than 1/15th of a second.

sine1c.gif

:)

Edited by sometimes99er

Very nice. How big is the routine and how much working memory (RAM) does it require? I'd love to have some math library as an add-on library for spectra2. I'm a noob in math so always looking on learning some new tricks :)

Thanks for feedback.

The cartridge header is 21 bytes. VDP initialization is 134 bytes. Main is 26 bytes. Plot routine is 52 bytes. VDP routines are 186 bytes. Tables are 264 bytes.

Registers R0 through R5 are used. No other CPU RAM in use. VDP use is of course almost 13K.

No math as such in use, and code is all very sloppy right now.

The wave looks "broken" as is. I'm moving steadily through x values and getting the y values (= coordinate for plot). I could use a smaller table and draw lines between plots to get exactly the same wave, but "unbroken". The line drawing routine has a bit of overhead, so small lines are relatively "heavy" compared with longer lines. Right now I'm however going down other paths.

Will let you know, when and if parts get sober and clean for any other use.

This time I'm doing some simple math. The demo draws 46 sine waves. That should amount to 46 x 256 plots = 11776 plots in less than 5 seconds. That's only 39 plots per frame (60 fps). I have to compare this with alleged 1123 moving dots (in a 16 x 16 character area), 50 fps on a Commodore 64. Probably involving a few tricks - and/or cheating. Have to check that.

sine2c.gif

Edited by sometimes99er
  • Like 1