IGNORED

Right in the Middle of my FB2+ mod - quest about onboard/cart switch

Summary

1) How should I remove the jumper across J9?

2) Do J9 open AND J3 shorted both have to be true to use cart?

3) Can I wire the onboard/cart switch using GRD from J9 OR J3?

I've got the cartridge slot all wired up and I'm getting ready to attach to the actual FB2+ board.

Whats the best way to remove the resistor thats across J9? I'm not really experienced with this and I don't want to damage the pads underneath.

Also the silkscreen says

J3 Short = Game Cartridge

J9 Open = Game Cartridge

From the descriptions on this board about the various switches that people have built, I'm guessing that this is an AND condition, meaning both of these have to be true to get the game cart mode?

Also, I pulled my cart slot off of a broken 4 switcher that had a broken power switch and would not display correctly, I proceeded to desolder the difficulty switches off of it and wanted to use one for the Onboard/Cart switch on the FB. These switches only have 3 "connectors" hanging down. Can I still use one of them? I think I should be able just to connect the ground of one of either J9 OR J3, or do they have to use their own ground? I would of course connect the other side of each to the switched position of the switch, something like this:

post-5812-0-86818300-1320026475.png

Device is switched to J3 (cart) in the above example. Will that work?

Edited by wongojack

I found some other posts on this. BAtari had trouble desoldering the resistor and offered this (in a different post):

BTW, J9 is on the right near the yellow wires I soldered in. When I tried to desolder the 0 Ohm resistor at J9 I screwed up its solder pads so I followed the traces to R10 and C7 and soldered wires there instead. Indeed, shorting these connections does enable the FB2 ROM and it works properly so I know my screwup wasn't fatal. But carts don't work when shorting J3 and opening J9