IGNORED

Game cartridge and joystick questions.

Space Centurion

Hi all, I am new to the 4A and have some simple questions.

I have two games (for now), Moonpatrol and TI Invaders. Are they keyboard only, or can you switch to a joystick? I have the TI joysticks but they do not respond to the game, so I am not sure if the games do not support joysticks, or if the joysticks are dead. Any advice? Thanks.

Hi, yep, they are the TI ones. Do I need to do anything special to activate them?

Just in case it isn't obvious... be sure you are plugging the joysticks into the port on the left-hand side. The one on the back of the console is for the cassette recorder. Easy to mix them up as they are the same style connector!

• Like 1

Welcome to the TI-99 world!

Although you have two TI Joysticks together at one port, each game usually wants either #1 or #2. So for a particual game only Joystick #1 works, while another wants you to use Joystick #2.

Alpha Lock [it's a Key] releasement is important in order to use the "UP"-direction on the Joystick. This is the main bug of the console and can be fixed with a resistor installment on the mainboard/keyboard.

• Like 1

Hi.....ok, so to just verify everything.....

-joystick plugged into left side, made sure plugged in properly and not loose.

-Alpha up

-tried moving/firing both joysticks

I found a TI Invaders manual online, and it basically says to just use the joystick. I wasn't sure if I needed to activate the joysticks by a function keycode or similar, it just seems to be plug and play. ARGH.

SO, from everyones experience, do you think the joysticks are dead, or the port?

I'll have to take some voltage readings from the port, see if I get anything.

I did buy the parts to make the "normal/atari" joystick adapter, guess I'll have to build it today and see what happens. :-)

going one step slower:

back in the time you started the games usually via keyboard.

TI Invaders:

1. hit any when color title screen shows up