IGNORED

what software i need to develop for jaguar ( newbie jag programer sorry)

aljares

Hi

I want to program hombrew for jag , i am new in games developt but i have some skill in program asm c and basic . here my question

a) what software i need to program ?¿ ( some like BasiEgaXorz ¿?) what c compiler or asm copiler i need

( what soft i need to make a hello and try in virtual jaguar ¿?)

b) guides to read ?¿ ) i read the tecnical reference for tom and jerry

c) for make titles ¿?¿ some like (gimp and imagenesis) for megadrive

d) i develop in and old pc ( with parallel pot fot jbl wire) , what best os ?¿ dos win 98 or linux ?¿ ,

all help and samples , soft for develop will be aprecciated

think to do

A) make a bjl wired , done

b) mod jag bios in progress , i ask help in general forum

soft to trasfer rom intro jag ?¿

sorry about my english

thank

• 8 months later...

Do you think iot would be a good idea to try and make videos for how to programme basic games to get people like me (programming n00b) tomake games? I'm way keen to make games for the Atari Jaguar but would have no idea about technical terms and such... I have heard you need to programme in C, is that true? Also, I would like to make cartridge games, where do I get those/ how do I make them? ASorry for being a pain in the ass but I'm 16 so I get pumped for stuff pretty easily ;) thanks for any hepl in advance

I'd recommend grabbing RMAC and RLN as your assembler and linker.

Regards OS choice, choose whichever OS you are most used to, although if you are planning to use BJL via parallel you may be limited to Linux, DOS and the older strains of Windows (95/98 etc.. I *think* XP may work.. not sure though).

Best place to start is to grab some of the examples out there that people have released, and have a play with those. Build from there.