IGNORED

Byte order of Jaguar ROM images and cartridge EPROM

Richard42

Hello all,

I just wanted to post here and note some useful things that I learned in the last few days, since I had searched quite a bit for this information online and didn't find it. Hopefully it will be useful for someone else in the future who gets sent here by a search engine. I am a software engineer and long time vintage game and computer collector, and I recently started building a Jaguar collection. The availability of documentation and tools for homebrew gave me the idea to write a game for the Jag. I'm at a very busy point in my life so it might not get done for a few years but I thought I would at least get the hardware to make it happen now in case these things get more rare in the future. I got a skunkboard off of ebay and a bunch of parts to make 20 cartridges (I hope to sell the game). My EPROM burner is a GQ-3x from mcumall with the ADP-054 adapter to be able to burn the 27C160 42-pin rom.

I have a bunch of ROM images from many years ago when I tried to get Virtual Jaguar working on my Linux PC (I think the old version that I have isn't really playable with any of them). I thought I should get my feet wet (and make sure the eproms I got from China worked) by burning a ROM image. The rom images that I have end with a .jag extension. A lot of the homebrew images are odd sizes (not powers of two), but the commercial game images are 1MB, 2MB, or 4MB. The major problem here is to figure out how to split/pad/etc the rom images into two binary 2MB files suitable for EPROM burning.