IGNORED

Theoretical Lynx Font

One of my interests right now is in typography, i.e. fonts. As such, I was wondering if I could do some small service to the Lynx development community by creating a functional font. If such was possible I was wondering what format a font that functioned on Lynx would be and how many characters for this theoretical typeface.

As a proof of the concept, I present a small conceptual sample of what it could look like. I'm not sure how many characters it would need, so I stuck to the basics already present on my keyboard.

post-31984-0-01921100-1406521371.png

I'm not a professional font designer, in fact I have no font designing software - the above was done purely in Photoshop - and I can't code a single line of BASIC.

Thoughts?

p.s.: Ignore the strange thing to the far left of each line. It was my personal height identifier - max height from what I'm calling the "baseline" (official font terminology but I've got only a faint idea of what it actually means) upwards is seven pixels., from the baseline downwards, only two pixels.

Edited by AtariLynx Lover

There is actually two ways to think about a font. One is raster and the other one is sprites.

The "classic" way is to create a sprite that is one pixel high and 160 pixels wide. You then fill it from your font buffer and print it. This means that one row of text becomes 8 sprites.

This is the way the current cc65 compiler outputs text.

Another approach is to create single letter sprites. In this case the height and width of the character can be pretty much anything. Your "Theoretical font" fits the single character sprite approach as it is not a monospace font.

I have made a few small fonts by using the latter technique.

An Atari look-alike font: https://bitbucket.org/karri/atari/src

An Arial look-alike font: https://bitbucket.org/karri/arial/src

An Haiku font: https://bitbucket.org/karri/haiku/src

post-2099-0-32374200-1406615130_thumb.png