IGNORED

Using jEdit for 2600 development

SpiceWare

I've been using jEdit for 2600 development since 2006. jEdit is a programmer's editor that is written in Java so it will run on just about any system out there.

What I like about jEdit is the ability to use custom "mode" files to control the Syntax Highlighting. Syntax highlighting means different parts of your code will be displayed with a unique style - typically different foreground colors, though the style also includes options for background color, bold and italic.

You might wonder how syntax highlighting would help you out - here's an example:

post-3056-0-67020300-1412127452_thumb.png

TIA register RESP0 was accidentally typed with the letter O instead of the number 0. When typed correctly, the syntax highlighting of RESP0 will change:

post-3056-0-15079800-1412127465_thumb.png

I've been maintaining mode files for 2600 assembly, batari BASIC, and ColecoVision programming. Back in June I figured out how to change the mode file so that graphics represented by binary numbers is very easy to see in the program:

post-3056-0-76817900-1412127683_thumb.png

This weekend iesposta prodded me into figuring out how to use jEdit to compile with dasm:

post-3056-0-80741200-1412127948_thumb.png

and launch Stella:

post-3056-0-18861800-1412127960_thumb.png

If you're interested in using jEdit for 2600 coding, you may like to look over the series of blog entries I've been posting about it.

• See this entry for the current mode files for 2600 and batari BASIC coding
  • See this entry for adding console support, a prerequisite for the next blog entry
  • See this entry for configuring jEdit to compile with dasm and launch Stella
  • See this entry for how to set the Syntax Highlighting (colors) to your liking
Edited by SpiceWare
  • Like 5

I wish to voice some highlights.

"In Java" so we are talking about Mac, Linux, and Windows.