IGNORED

What's the best system on which to learn ASM?

MantaNZ

Hey guys,

I'm looking at getting into retro game dev. I've been a game developer for the last five years and am fairly proficient in C/C++ (although I've used Unity and JS/C# for all of my game projects) but assembly is completely new to me.

I understand you need to really get to know the hardware (something Unity doesn't require - lol) and my school of thought was that a simpler machine would be simpler to learn... or is there more to it than that?

I was thinking of starting on the C64 and working my way up to 68k asm so I can make stuff for the Mega Drive, but where would you guys suggest starting?

Cheers!

I started directly with 68K ASM, since you are a developer it might not be such a rough transition for you. There is a lot of reading involved and you sometimes can't just google an answer. ( I used to do C# dev and remember stack overflow being the holy ground for C# answers )

I initially wrote simple ASM programs and ran them with GDB sim and Qemu. If you are a Linux user it is fairly trivial to set up a cross compiler and get things moving rather quickly.

If you're interested in setting up a cross compiler check this link.

To run the build binaries in QEMU check out this.

Yes, the 68K is very orthogonal and used to be a popular CPU to learn assembly language for CS students, although in practise you would've had more use in learning X86 assembly. I don't know if the Megadrive is a nice target, or if you'd be better off fiddling in the land of either Amiga or Atari ST, but quite possibly you could be well off going directly into Sega territory.