IGNORED

Hello, (Graphical) World!

Recently, I started a development project on the Atari Falcon. Getting up and running was a serious challenge. Among the more difficult aspects of this challenge was figuring out how initialize the Falcon graphics hardware and push pixels onto the screen. Now that I have gotten over that hurdle, I'd like to offer my fellow beginners some guidance.

Attached is a Pure C project and source file that do pretty much exactly as I described above. They set the screen up for 320x240 true color mode and cycle through the colors, painting the entire screen at each iteration. This code was compiled on Aranym and run tested on both Hatari and a real Falcon. The compiled PRG is included as well.

COLRCYCL.zip

Edited by pixelmischief

• 4 weeks later...

Awesome stuff! Will have to get this onto my Falcon this week. I started coding on the machine myself last year in assembly and hit the same issues WRT to setting up the video modes etc. I hit up Laurent (Thados) and he told me he'd used the Dead Hacker's Society demo framework to sort things out for his games so I've started down that route. Will be interesting to play with the C code though. I'm trying to make a columns clone at the moment but have a bug that crashes the machine. It's getting a bit tedious because I know what code is causing the crash but can't see anything wrong with it, and so far haven't had luck getting debuggers working (though trying with Hatari ATM).

• 2 weeks later...