IGNORED

Sunnyvale 4-switcher??

landsmarra

All the California 4-switchers I've seen have a four-switch top mated to a modified 6-switch base (the original joystick ports on back are covered with a thin piece of plastic).

Again, it's my understanding that Atari did this to use up the remaining inventory of 6-switch bases. Similar 'frankenstein' consoles were also produced overseas.

All the California 4-switchers I've seen have a four-switch top mated to a modified 6-switch base (the original joystick ports on back are covered with a thin piece of plastic).  

Again, it's my understanding that Atari did this to use up the remaining inventory of 6-switch bases.  Similar 'frankenstein' consoles were also produced overseas.

The fellow who has this console says that it does not have a 6-switch base. Any rarer?

• 3 years later...

I'm not an expert, but I doubt it. Although, I've never seen one so configured. I would venture that it is probably less common than a similar 4-switch produced overseas, but I wouldn't think that it is 'rare'.

I also have a sunnyvale 4 switcher, i was told that it was originally a display model. Apparently Atari made several thousand units that were shipped to retailers for display purposes. This was after they stopped producing them in CA for mass production and only produced in lower quantities for special purposes, like conventions, retailers, contest, promotions, etc.

I do think they are the rarest though, although several thousands were made, actually MORE 6 switch sunnyvale atari units were produced than 4-switch atari units from sunnyvale.

I love my atari's!

I got em all except for a jag. (one day)

:cool:

While I usually try to avoid dredging up 3-year-old threads (sometimes unsuccessfully ;) ), since Foosballer brought it up I will make a correction:

I just posted a pic of onethe other day in here i have that is a "frankenstein" 4 switcher wich was made in CA....seems to have a heavy 6'er bottom and a 4 switch top on it.