IGNORED

Game Suggestions for a NG Pocket Color virgin...

Thread title explains it all! :grin:

I just received a Neo Geo Pocket Color today in the mail and need some games to play. I have NO experience with this system at all, but I am familiar with SNK franchises as I do have an AES. Absolute must have games for the system? Absolute games to avoid? Feel free to give me your top (or bottom) 3. All your tips and tricks are also VERY much appreciated. Thanks all!

I didn't see an appropriate thread for this topic specifically, so I created a new one, but if the mods feel it should be in the general Neo Geo thread, please merge it and accept my apologies!

Pretty much any game apart from the gambling titles :P

Depending on what genres you like (and there's quite a few fighters), I'd say Card Fighter Clash, Metal Slug 2nd Mission, Dark Arms, Faselei, Match of the Millennium, Cotton, and Puzzle Bobble.

Thanks, Mayhem. I have heard a lot of positives regarding the Card Fighter Clash games. Also, how is the Sonic game? Is it the best platformer for the system? Is it the only platformer for the system??? ;) For handhelds, I also enjoy straight forward puzzle games. Besides Puzzle Bobble, any other "decent to great" puzzle games to pick up? Again, thanks for the quick reply.

I have this system, although not a great many games. I have played most of them through the magic of emulation, however, and can tell you that Sonic Pocket Adventure is a pretty good entry in the series. Don't expect Genesis quality graphics, but you do get Genesis quality speed and the same tight control. It was developed by Dimps, the guys who went on to make Sonic Advance (and a bunch of other more recent titles).

Sadly, I thought that Sonic Pocket was better than Sonic Advance.

Here's my short list of games to get:

Bust-a-Move Pocket
Dark Arms
Faselei!
Fatal Fury: First Contact
King of Fighters R-2
Metal Slug 1st Mission
Metal Slug 2nd Mission
Pac-Man
Samurai Shodown! 2