IGNORED

Which USB Flash Programmer - as versatile as possible for Atari uses?

I am starting this thread primarily because I would like to have a USB programmer that will work on the "Ultimate1MB"'s flash EEPROM in order to test out FJC's new BIOS and I did not want to hijack his thread by asking for suggestions there. However, as many different EEPROM chips are used on various Atari mods and cartridges I wonder if anyone could suggest a Programmer that will cover the widest number of hardware possibilities? Obviously the "Ultimate1MB" is currently my focus, but it would also be nice to pick one up that will maybe write the chips used on "SIC", "The!Cart" and as many pertinent others as possible.

I have been intending to build a flash-writer for many years now but never got around to it. However it is my understanding you can buy a ready-made one for less than £20 these days on eBay. However I am far from averse to going the DIY route if anyone could suggest a good kit - or even build one totally from discrete components if there is a good circuit plan out there for the purpose.

• Like 1

I am starting this thread primarily because I would like to have a USB programmer that will work on the "Ultimate1MB"'s flash EEPROM in order to test out FJC's new BIOS and I did not want to hijack his thread by asking for suggestions there. However, as many different EEPROM chips are used on various Atari mods and cartridges I wonder if anyone could suggest a Programmer that will cover the widest number of hardware possibilities? Obviously the "Ultimate1MB" is currently my focus, but it would also be nice to pick one up that will maybe write the chips used on "SIC", "The!Cart" and as many pertinent others as possible.