IGNORED

HELP, trying to fix an Atari 2600

zonaps2

Hi,

I'm trying to resurrect this Atari I bought long ago and was never able to get it working,

When the power is on it shows black and white lines as in the video:

VIDEO:

I'm not very good at soldering, but I've tried these things without success:

- cleaning motherboard with contact cleaner

- remove and re inserted the 3 chips
- change voltage regulator 7805
- resolder power input
- Test another power supply (9V 500mA)
- desolder, clean and place RF modulator

Things I've tried with a cheap multimeter:

- 9V power supply shows 13.5V in the multimeter without being plugged in.
- when Atari is ON the voltage drops to 3.5v at the power input
- the voltage regulator shows 3.6v and 2.1v in the two 'legs', I don't know what values are the right ones.

Here there's a bunch of pics showing the tests I've done:

AWUnX3w.jpg

New power supply:
R3MhADS.jpg

1N0sldu.jpg

IWd2ymW.jpg

With Atari ON:
XE1aYeM.jpg

r7nQQCC.jpg

6zEO9If.jpg

Old regulator:
YEJXj4Y.jpg

NEw regulator:
4CbiKyX.jpg

More pics:
riXPiwq.jpg

mYHmNKU.jpg

13 volts is fine on a unregulated supply like the Atari

It seems something is shorted or fried causing a short if it drops that darn low .

when powered on does anything get hot and I don't mean hunh that's seems hot but OMG that just burnt my finger frying pan hot

First place I would look is the regulator with your meter set to ohms measure the resistance tween the middle pin and the two outside pins it should measured 100's of thousands or even millions of ohms

That will kind of point you to before or after the regulator

PS do it while the unit is unplugged

Edited by Osgeld

Hi Osgeld, thanks for your help!

I've turned on the atari for like 5 minutes but nothing gets hot, only the regulator gets warm.