IGNORED

Misbehaving VBXE

CharlesMouse

Hello all,

I wonder if anyone might be able to suggest a fix for my seemingly unhappy VBXE. (Lotharek version installed in a non-Freddy 800XL, along with a U1MB, dual-POKEY, SIDE2, and Sio2SD). Yep, it's safe to say I've put a fair bit in to my 800XL but I'll freely admit being pretty new to Atari systems and I'm still learning my way.

All has been working well (within the limits of my understanding! I still haven't sussed how to work the various proggies needed to flash/upgrade these devices) but I knocked my machine while powered up and not for the first time the VBXE partially popped out of the motherboard socket. As before, with a sigh wondering if this is the day I bite the bullet and just solder the darn thing perminantly to the motherboard, I opened it up to reseat the VBXE (so the cable-ties didn't work!). As before my 800XL seemed to be working fine again once reassembled...

...then I loaded a VBXE-specific game to be greeted by a corrupted screen. Several tests later I variously got; screen corruption, hard lockup, the app claiming the VBXE isn't present, or I need to load the FX core, depending on what I tried to run. 'Normal' Atari software runs just fine.

Hmm, I tried the fc.xex app that manages the VBXE to see if the last 'accident' scrambled it's settings and if necessary reflash the core. (I have at least sussed how to work that app) Sadly it nolonger loads but leaves the machine locked up with a couple of scrambled lines of text in the middle of the screen.