IGNORED

jzintv help

Sir Jay

I am new to emulation. I have a Mac and downloaded jzintv and GUintv. I have successfully run GUintv with jzintv, exec.bin, and grom.bin inside of it and GUintv seemed to find the files okay. I downloaded a rom from intellivision.us, for example 4-tris. I opened the 4-tris folder and grabbed the .rom from it and put it in jzintv's rom folder. I went to Open and tried to open the 4-tris rom in the jzintv rom folder, but it wouldn't work. I guess I am looking to find out what I might be doing wrong. Thanks.

You'll probably need to find yourself a GROM.BIN and and an EXEC.BIN too. They are ROM dumps from the "BIOS" in the Inty.

I already found them. I put them and the jzintv folder into the GUintv folder (recommended in the GUintv readme file). The GUintv asks you to map the location of those folders and I did that and that part seems to have gone well. It even told me that I needed the ecs.bin if I wanted to play ecs games but that I didn't need it for other games. The GUintv instructions then say to go to file, open, and then open a "game". I assumed that meant to click on a rom file in the rom folder in the jzintv folder. If I do that a window tells me that whatever I clicked on is a "directory" and doesn't do anything. Ideas?

I'd like to help, but I'm not really familiar at all with GUIntv. Do you have a pointer to it? The issue seems to be less with jzIntv and more with the GUI wrapper.

Have you used jzintv on a Mac? Do you have a suggestion for a different program/wrapper? I'm hoping to have some time to mess with this between now and New Years.

Edited by Sir Jay

Have you used jzintv on a Mac? Do you have a suggestion for a different program/wrapper? I'm hoping to have some time to mess with this between now and New Years.

Of course I have... I'm the 'jz' in jzintv. And, a few years back, I actually bought myself a MBP. I'm typing this message on that MBP, actually.