IGNORED

Tips for someone considering collecting for the Atari 2600?

hiitsbrian

I've been collecting retro games and systems off and on the past 10 years or so. My main focus is NES games and I also own a SNES, Sega Genesis, and Nintendo 64 with a small collection of games for each. So since I'm new to Atari completely, I was hoping some people here could help me out.

What's the best model of 2600 to get? I'm considering the 2600 Junior myself just because I like that it takes up less space and has a nice sleek design and logo on the front of it. Are there any downsides to this version of the console I should be aware about? Does the console just connect straight to your TV with an RF connector? Or will I need to buy some sort of converter to get the system hooked up to the television?

And lastly, GAMES. What are the best/must-own Atari 2600 games? Thanks!

What you should do is get the Atari 7800 so you can play both 2600 and 7800 games on it, killing two birds with one stone, and it's not like it's much more expensive.

Get your system/games in a big lot to save dough. In general, the console comes with a switchbox, but everyone uses a little coax adapter you can get on the AA store.

And remember - Activision games are your friends. They're the best on the system.

Edited by bretthorror
  • Like 2

the atari's used the coax jack (or RF signal) http://atariage.com/howto/connect.html

I never had a Jr. model but your easons for wanting one of those is probably the most popular reason

the 7800 does have that same sleek design & not much larger than the Jr. Model , it will play most of the 2600 library with only a few exceptions.

the common games are very fun to play & should be inexpensive

If you really want to start collecting, okay, start buying. If you just want to play, just get a 2600 of your choice and a Harmony cart, put all the ROMs on it, and go to town. This will leave you more money and space to buy some homebrew carts.