IGNORED

Atari Logo on Side 2

annomatik

Hi!

I started programming on a Atari 800 XL (or maybe a 600 XL, I'm not sure) in school, with Atari Logo. When I found a boxed Atarl 800 XL, I had to buy it.

Waiting for the delivery, I still haven't received it, I looked around for ways to get software on it. I settled with the Side 2, which apparently can load XEX files very quickly. I have a bunch of XEX files I'm using with emulation, for Atari Logo though I only have a "com" file. (I have a XEX file which is working in emulation for Atari Pilot).

My question is: What do I need to make that com file work with the 800 XL? And will I be able to save my programs I work on to some sort of device and maybe even back these up on my PC?

I have a CF card reader on my PC, I'm also using CF cards with my Canon cameras.

Thanks!

Welcome to AtariAge. You can do all the things you mentioned, and more.

I'm on my phone now so typing is difficult at best.

Hopefully others can jump in. I'll be on a real computer later and I'll attempt to explain the basics of ATR files, com, exe, and xex files.

I need T.P. for my bunghole! :)

OK, first of all, the SIDE2 is a great little device, but it performs best if the computer has plenty of RAM. I'm not sure if you will have enough free RAM to run Logo on a stock 800XL. Try it, you may.

As for COM, EXE, XEX files, they're all binary load program files. Only the name is different (and may be changed from one to another if you like.) Traditionally, COM files are small DOS commands, handlers, and the like. EXE (and XEX) are usually for large binaries that require the $A000-BFFF (cart space) area to be available, and require the use of the X command in SpartaDOS-X.

ATR files are an image of a disk. They can each contain their own version of DOS, and may hold multiple files inside them.