IGNORED

Getting started with the TI

iKarith

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to the TI since I picked up a (just about pristine!) silver console at Goodwill a few weeks ago. I'm legally blind, so I'm actually pretty glad that probably most/all of the manuals I'll want to read are probably scanned as PDF.

Some of you met me last weekend at FestWest, I'm the albino/tomato who came with ElectricLab. Definitely closer to tomato by the time I got home, but was totally worth it. ;) I had a blast, and any of you who are in the area and haven't been, you should totally go next time!

I'm not totally new to retrocomputing--I do Apple stuff and actually work on Raspple II with IvanX, which is where we take a Raspberry Pi and turn it into a cheap peripheral for 1MHz computers. BECAUSE WE CAN. :) It's a pretty efficient way to get software onto our beloved machines.

Dunno if the same kinds of things are possible for the TI yet. I did borrow the nanoPEB ElectricLab bought at FestWest and will probably buy it from him when I'm less economically challenged, but what I've been able to glean so far suggests that all of the tools I'll want for loading the CF full of stuff are DOS/Windows. I can probably use dosbox for the former, but as the Pi uses an ARM chip, WINE isn't likely to help with the latter.

Other options I don't know much about yet.

Anyway, I'd like to sort this out, and if I can I'd like to begin writing/revising a n00b howto for the TI. If it winds up being doable on the Pi, maybe we can even cook up something like Raspple II for it eventually, though I've got lots of todo items right now, so a howto may have to serve for the time being.

Whadda y'all think? :)

• Like 2