IGNORED

XEGS Basic keeps locking up?

Hi all,

I am extremely new to Atari 8-bits. I just received a XEGS from B&C yesterday, hooked it up last night, and everything seemed fine. Today, I started messing around in Atari Basic that comes included when one attaches a keyboard. I was running through some of the exercises in the XEGS keyboard manual, and for the first half hour, everything was going great. I stepped away from the XEGS for about 10 minutes to attend to something, and when I came back, the XEGS was cycling through different colors, which I assume is a screen saver of some sort.

Anyway, after that, the Basic on the XEGS kept glitching (as in showing characters/symbols on the screen I did not input) and then outright locking up with no sound, no cursor, and no way to clear the screen. I have to turn the power on and off to reset the Basic on the XEGS, and then it works for a few minutes but then starts the same problems again. I did the self test and both ROM rectangles turn "green," all 48 of the RAM squares are "green," and Missile Command plays fine. Right now, I have turned off the XEGS, unplugged the keyboard, and unplugged the AC Adaptor from the wall. Any thoughts on what is going on with my Basic? B&C has a 90 day warranty, but I was curious if this is common, or if I need to send back to Bruce? Any ideas of troubleshooting appreciated!

It's either the rom, or one of the smaller support chips. Basic accesses the first part of the ram, so it may still be that. Open it up and pull out the mobo and request another one with socketed ram. He knows the XEGS have faulty ( MT ) ram. The other known problem is the start, select...switches go out sooner than they should. You may want to look into getting the XE touch keyboard mod from best electronics if you plan on using it often.

Yes the coloured screen thing is a built-in screensaver :)