IGNORED

Idea for slightly easier ExtSel for 1200XL

This is my very first time doing something like this, so be gentle, but constructive criticism is encouraged.

I kinda boned the ExtSel mod on my 1200XL. It just seems so drastic to cut the pins off a perfectly good 74HC08. Soldering things directly to chip is also kinda unaesthetic. Also, I kinda suck at it.

So I'm thinking something like this (borrowing entirely from Bob's Wooley's PBI instructions):

post-36974-0-04594500-1465436747_thumb.jpg

The existing 74LS08 gets plugged into U1, which is then plugged into socket U17 on a 1200XL motherboard.

An unspoiled 74HC08 gets plugged straight into U2.

R1 is a 2.7K resistor, just like in Bob's instructions.

J1 could be right angle or straight headers.

It's really simple, and I'm sure I could use a few lessons on PCB design. Also, I don't know how much work it cuts down. You still need to:

1. Cut the trace and solder a wire to the pad above U11 (connects to J1 pin 6)

2. Solder a wire to U14 pin 16 (connects to J1 pin 1)

3. Solder a wire to +5v (connects to J1 pin 3)

4. Remove Q4 and Y1 from the motherboard

But then you have J1 pin 2 for CasInh and J1 pins 4 and 5 for ExtSel (VBXE and Rapidus). A larger J1 could be added if more ExtSel and CasInh lines are needed.

Waddya think, sirs?

Edited by Smokeless Joe
  • Like 2

I don't have the mod instructions available but - to eliminate cutting off pins, couldn't you equally just do the same to a socket and use between chip and existing socket? So long as not too many pins are to be disconnected it should work fine and cost next to nothing.

Oo! A request!

How hard would it be to add the MPD signal to the board/design? This signal is missing on the XEGS MMU. Would be nice if we could use the same board for both the 1200XL and the XEGS.

That's a good question. I don't know how the MPD signal is normally added to an XEGS. Anyone know?