IGNORED

New DIY RF Box Build for 4-Port

mikey.shake

Hi everyone,

I've been battling a batty RF switchbox for my 4-port (which I'm going to try to troubleshoot in another thread).

I decided to try and go out and build my own before I bother doing a full mod to the console itself. I used the instructions from this site, and followed them as closely as I was able. I thought I was able to follow them to a T. I'm a bit of an amateur, but can solder-by-numbers in the right situation.

I put everything together full of hope, and when I fired it up, just got a damp squib, but with tiny progress. At least i can see SOMETHING:

IMG_20160709_155245659.jpg

IMG_20160709_155406049.jpg

But I can't figure out what's gone wrong. It seems like these instructions have been getting the "thumbs up" online for years, so I'm assuming it's not those. I also used this video as a reference for the work:

Here's a gut shot of the newly-built box:

IMG_20160709_155949031.jpg

- I used a 7/16-inch bolt for the choke, 22-gauge wire, wrapped it 12-14 times, taped that off to keep it secure and wound.

- Choke gets connected from RF port to power input.

- Connected the RF port to the coax-F TV output with a .01uF, 500V capacitor.

- Nothing seems shorted, and the metal case should be grounding everything via the jacks.

- It's connected to the TV via a brand-new 3ft coax cable.

The original switchbox that's been giving me trouble has an issue switching between inputs, but when a 5200 game shows up onscreen, it's clear as can be. I even retested the system using the old switchbox, and here's how it looks (taken 3 minutes after the above photos):

IMG_20160709_161417733.jpg

IMG_20160709_161347634.jpg

Again, those are AFTER hooking it up to the older, "funky" switcher, so I know the console's still good. I'd LOVE to just build a basic box that would allow me to output the 5200, but I'm going batty. What's in my hand is exactly what I want, only it doesn't work.