IGNORED

Intellivision font is different in emulators

dalves

Hi, I'm very new to Intellivision programming so please forgive me if my questions are stupid. I've been using IntyBASIC SDK and have used some of the sample programs to kind of feel my way around some basic programming. My first project was to recreate the "Mattel Electronics" title screen, which I did a decent job of. However I did notice that the font was a little different than the original font when I ran it in JZIntv emulator. The font looks exactly the same as the old games when I run it in MESS. I wasn't sure if this had to do with the emulator itself or perhaps the exec or grom files?

I know I will have other programming questions along the way and wanted to be sure this was the correct forum to post in.

Thanks...

If you use the original EXEC and GROM with jzIntv, it will look just like the original Intellivision.

At one time, I had played with providing a "miniexec"/"minigrom" that used a different font, and provided just enough code to display a title screen and make some homebrews work. I don't recommend using those for anything serious. I don't know if you're using those files or not. I no longer distribute those with jzIntv, though.

I'd recommend getting the "stable dev build" from http://spatula-city.org/~im14u2c/intv/for new development, and using the stock EXEC/GROM. I assume you have those if you're also using MESS/MAME. (MESS was swallowed back up into MAME, wasn't it?)

Thanks for letting me know. I checked and I do currently have the miniexec and minigrom. I'll download the latest stable version and use that.

MESS was combined with MAME recently. I still run older versions of each. I like having my arcade roms and console roms separate. :)