IGNORED

SIO2SD--make real floppies

nd2003grad

I can't figure this out and I'm new to this whole thing.

I've got quite a few new old stock types of floppies. I successfully (I think) formatted them. I have a couple of questions about what I'm trying to do.

1. Do I put a "Dos" on all of them?

2. I want to copy files from SIO2SD to them to make game and other disks. How do I do this? I'm having some trouble with setting the drive number on the SIO2SD as I know it is multiple drives, but I'm not sure how the 800 sees the floppy drive (currently set as "1") vs. the SIO2SD.

2 1/2: If I copy an .atr file to a floppy, does that take up the entire floppy, or can another ATR be extracted to it as well if room?

3. I didn't even want this system. I love it so much; how wrong I was.

4. Thanks!

Looking forward to hearing. Have tried MyDos, Dos 2.5, and Disk Wizard with differing errors.

one way of tackling the "multi games to disk" issue is to use disk create - see below

as reagrds your second question, an ATR is a complete disk image file - so you can't really add to these "on the fly".

the only way you can "add" to an ATR is to use a pc program like makeatr to edit the contents

or, create a real disk and edit the contents using your atari/1050.

disk create.zipmakeATR_v0.06.zipATRutil.zip

Edited by Guest

Q1: You only need to put DOS on disks you want to boot from. Once the system boots from a disk with DOS, you can load files from other disks even if they don't have DOS on them.

Q2: The SIO2SD unit actually emulates more than one disk drive. I'd go into the SIO2SD menu and make sure that you have turned "OFF" any simulated disk drives that exist in real life. For instance, if you have a real 1050 as disk 2, make sure disk 2 is turned "OFF" in the SIOS2SD.

Q3: As brenski said, an ATR is a complete disk image. It's not an archiving format like ZIP. You can't mix/match.