IGNORED

New to collecting atari 400/800/XL/XE questions

Elvis8Atari

I've been collecting Atari 2600, 5200 and 7800 games for many years. But I've only recently gotten into collecting Atari 8-Bit computer stuff. And I have several basic questions..

I am curious which games work for which computers? For example, can I play Atari 800 games on the Atari 400?

Can Atari XE games be played on the Atari 400?

Can Atari XE Games be played on the 800 or 800xl?

And is there a list anywhere of which games were released for each computer? I saw atarimania has a good index of the games, but I was hoping to find a basic text list of the games for each system.

I'm assuming each one of these computers had a disk drive. Is there a disk drive that works with all the computers or does one need to own ALL of the disk drives? Also, since many floppy disks don't work any more, is there a better way to play Atari computer floppy games? I have heard of Floppy emus. Does that exist for Atari computers?

Also, which of these computers is the most sought after? Which do you consider to be the best one to own?

• Like 1

Hi. Here is a quick, and by no means comprehensive answer:

Some games produced for the original 400/800 don't work on the later XL and XE lines. Games like Shamus, Protector 2, Monster Maze etc. Search the forum for XL compatibility and you will find a list.

Unless your 400 has been upgraded to 64k ram, it will not run a lot of the bigger games.

XE games can be played on the XL line, and some of them work on the original 800. Very few commerical games took advantage of the extra 64k on the XE line, and generally, the XE games use ROM space on the carts, not the extra system ram on the XE line.