IGNORED

65xe repair and troubleshooting advice

shoestring

Hi all.

I have picked up a dead and battered 65xe that produces nothing but a black screen.

It has what appears to be 2 x 64Kx4bit DRAMs ( MT 4067-12 ). Are these just 4464s? The data sheet seems to confirm the same pinout. I'm still getting nothing after replacing them with known working DRAMs which are a little faster. FYI I'm using a known working power supply which I use for my other Atari's.

I tested the MT-4067 DRAMs out of circuit and they seem completely dead so I'm suspecting that a faulty power supply took these out and perhaps other circuitry as well. The 40 pin chip at the bottom left is stone cold compared to the other chips which run warm, looking at the circuit it appears that this chip is some kind of DRAM address decoder??

I'm just looking for some advice on probably causes before I start doing some troubleshooting of my own as I have no experience with the XE series and I'd like to get the memory in this upgraded eventually and the exterior cleaned up :)

Thanks in advance.

Some pics of the machine and my current progress.

f4323f72c4bf17509f8b39029c838202.jpg

0d0bba061e81754ae8b51d4fc173f347.jpg

523337d4065e251082367e6c3044262f.jpg

They're just standard 4 bit 64k DRams. The MT brand are notorious as being unreliable to the point of some people replacing them even if they work OK.

Good practice is to put sockets in before the replacement chips. And use a known good power supply, there are some variants that will go overvolt when they get old and kill systems. Unwanted buzzing in the audio can be a symptom of a PS that's bad.

To get 128K you'd also need an EMMU chip which goes into that lone socket below/right of the Ram sockets. Not sure if that's the complete requirement, might be a few passive components needed as well.