IGNORED

My first arcade game attempt using gcc:

ElectricLab

After getting some help from the forums on AtariAge and some guidance from JediMatt, I have hacked together a simple game that is similar to the old Combat game on Atari, at least as I remember it (I haven't played it for years). My goal was to figure out how to use Tursi's libti99 and to mess around with sprites, etc in C. I used to try to make arcade games in XB 30 years ago, but with the speed of a compiled C program, it's a whole new game (pun definitely intended). Anyway I have attached the game in .bin format, since that was the easiest way for me to build and test it. I'm still learning how to do things but having a great time doing so.

This game is far from perfect, but kind of playable :) the "AI" is a rudimentary and the enemy tank does occasionally get stuck in a pattern, but will try to navigate towards you. sometimes. If you move around, it should break free since it does randomly try to come after you. I put together a pseudo random number generator since there was no rand() yet, and while useful, it could use more entropy. I use the old trick of seeding the algorithm by counting clock cycles while sitting at the "PRESS SPACEBAR TO PROCEED" screen. It has some known bugs such as when playing single player, the enemy tank will get stuck in a wall. I definitely want to learn how to do better collision detection.

Anyway I thought some of you might find it amusing, and feedback is certainly welcomed! I am having a blast with writing C code for the TI!

I wanted to thank JediMatt for providing me some started code and for his cool font that he made :) I wouldn't have been able to dive into this stuff were it not for being able to search this forum for pointers.