IGNORED

What caused you to change (Atari/non-Atari) platforms?

Xebec

Hey folks, I'm a US resident who "went" from Atari 800 platform (several variations) --> Atari ST (520ST, 1040ST) --> PC (an XT and then a very expensive 486, both in 1990).

Although I used each platform for a variety of things it was games that had me more or less mentally migrate away from each platform. Those games were:

2600 --> "Dad, I want an Atari 800" = Miner 2049er ~ 1983

800 --> ST = SunDog then Dungeon Master (then the 800 saw little use) ~ 1986-1987

ST --> PC = MechWarrior (playable on XT), Gunship 2000 (80486) (+ ST HDD died) ~ Late 1990

PC --> "Strictly PC" - original Unreal (caused me to sell or box up any consoles I owned). ~ 1998

I was curious what applications or games caused others to switch and heavily "move away" from an earlier Atari platform.

I should note I was a big BBSer all through these transitions up to late 1994 so that also helped shape what software I had access to , to make those transitions.. I was also very lucky my Dad sprung for a very expensive 80486 in 1994 (sorry Dad!), combined with a soundblaster and VGA kinda put the ST out to pasture.. I kinda wish I had seen an Amiga in it's full glory around the later ST time frame as I suspect that's the platform I might have chosen for a while before going fullbore on the PC with Unreal.

• Like 1

I purchased my Atari 800 with my own paper route money in 1980. Used that for 10 years. Purchased my Mega 2 ST in 1990 right after I got married. Used that for 5 years. Forget what I did with the Atari 800. Something tells me I sold somehow but since Internet was not out then (well as we use today), not sure how I sold it. LOL. Around mid 1990s when the Ataris and AMigas died off, I needed a Pro system, and moved to Mac. Quadra 800AV was my 1st. Then had many Macs from that point on. Got back into using Ataris sometime mid 2000s, maybe 2005. Even got into Amiga around 2010 and own AmigaNG based system now.