IGNORED

Space Patrol / Planet Patrol - Space Patrol 01x02 The Wandering Asteroid

RSS Bot

Tonight's episode can be found here:

[[i've decided in this series of Space Patrol review when someone mentions something other worldly sciency, (or in other words contrary to science) I will declare "Science!"]]

01:00 So the scientist, on Mars, looks into a telescope and sees Mars and two moons. Science!!!
02:10 Col. Raeburn is a old grouch. Complaining on why they would alert them in a rogue asteroid and ask to run a computation. Why? Because it's your job! (Nice Teletype) Wotan, is the Martian capitol.
04:20 Marla "A Venusian has the facility to anticipate what her employer wants." (Also confirms there
04:30 Professor Haggerty. And his eggs. He is famous for eggs. Don't call him Pop.
Katherine wants to be called Cathy.
05:30 So Professor Haggerty is asked to help with an asteroid heading towards Mars and his answer is "I'm a scientist Colonel, how can I help you with this?" Why would he be asking you? Because it's your job!!
BTW, YouTube has a Close Captioned option for videos. It was hilarious to see what Closed Captioned came up with when Professor Haggarty gave his full name (Professor Aloysius O’Brien O’Rourke Haggarty)

05:53 So we just established it will take seven months for the asteroid to hit Mars and within the span of five minutes people on Mars are getting concerned? Well that's advancing the plot for you.
06:24 to Paraphrase Professor Haggarty "Damnit Raeburn! I'm a Scientist not a demolition man!" :)
07:23 Venusians, complete with pointy ears, are known for being logical. Mind you, Star Trek would not air for another three years. (September 8, 1966) This episode aired for the first time in the UK on July 5, 1963.