IGNORED

240p from a PC to a standard TV

I'm always looking for ways one can play a game in 240p on any standard TV.

Back in 2007, I discovered the Extron Super Emotia, and it is an awesome machine... but I'm so baffled that 10 years later, that's still the only thing I can use to do this.

Why is it so difficult to build a device that accepts VGA (or HDMI) and output 240p to be used in any TV?

Why doesn't a small machine like this exist?

compactdeinterlacer.jpg

Obviously I'm no hardware expert :grin: im barely a noob. So I'd like to hear about whatever challenges that might come from this or how expensive something like this would really be.

Recently I discovered CRT_emudriver, which is a patch of the AMD videocards (lots of them are compatible), and I got really excited, but having something like this means that only the computer with the videocard would be able to output 240p.

Not only that, but it would only output to RGB, not Composite or S-Video... so only people with specific monitors who have also set up their videocard driver can use this. :( And you need like 2 rather expensive devices to convert RGB into composite / s-video.

I've been wondering for a while now why there isn't an HDMI to "deposit something here" converter for a while now.

Many of us have older TV's that are perfectly good, HD even, but no HDMI port (most the HD CRT's don't have HDMI and are perfectly good sets otherwise)

If one of my TV's goes out I may rip it apart and see what happens to the video after the HDMI port, I see no reason it couldn't be used to say "I'm an HDMI TV" and then output the signal to something else.

I'm always looking for ways one can play a game in 240p on any standard TV.