IGNORED

Developers/testing required for mini-itx clone system - ÉclaireXL

foft

As many of you know I've been re-engineering the Atari 800XL for several years. This project has been publically available as cores for several boards: Mist, MCC216, FPGA arcade etc.

I have also been working on Atari-specific custom hardware which can run this core. Some of the early prototypes can be seen here: http://www.scrameta.net/eclairexl.html.

The project has steadily progressed and has greatly accelerated in recent months. Panos (santosp here) contacted me and did a lot of work on the pcb layout to create a Mini ITX board. We built the first prototypes around Christmas. This was a run of only 5 and we have been testing them for a few months. At the same time Panos has been coming up with a revised design.

We are now at the point where we are going to manufacture a prototype run of around 5-10 units of the revised design. We are looking for people who would be willing to spend time/effort to test and debug the system. So while we're looking for pure testing and bug reports I'm keen to find coders who would be willing to dig into the code to see why things don't work, build test cases etc. Ability to help on the VHDL/verilog side would also be a plus but isn't necessary.

The cost of the prototypes will be somewhat higher than a larger run, so we're looking at about $200-220 USD + shipping costs.

If you are interested please send me a pm along with a proposal for how you can contribute.

Specifications:

* Extremely compatible with existing software

* 28MHz turbo mode

* 1MB RAM - supports 64K, 128K (with antic bank switching), 320K compy shop/rambo, 576k compy shop/rambo

* Built in sdrive with on-screen file selector

* SIO2PC

* Dual pokey

* Covox

* 2 joystick ports with paddle support and output support (new version has 4 ports)

* Cartridge port

* SIO port

* PBI port (not yet implemented)

* 2 USB ports supporting keyboard and joysticks