IGNORED

Assembly...Learning to Program the Atari 8 bits

All,

Not sure how to start...

Basically I am a Software Developer/Engineer with about 20 years of Professional experience (7 years working for Microsoft). Have a BS in Computer Science (1998) and a MS in Science (Computer Science - 2010).

Languages I know proficiently are C/C++, Classic VB.NET, Pascal (been a while) and of course Java (mostly classroom setting) / and of course today.NET languages. Last few or so years been in the Web develop scene and even had a stint at Microsoft (1998 to 2004). One thing in my career and even in school I did not get a lot of experience with was Assembler. Heard things about it even seen "snippets" in code from friends/did a linker in college but that is close as I got.... but it Feels like something is missing or I need to learn this in my career/personal toolbox.

The Atari 8 bit (800 and then later the 800XL) was basically my first computer. Spent many the hours programming it in Basic (Antic magazines and books) and of course playing the games....nothing professional programming wise more of an end user.

So with this said I am setting out to learn Assembler on the Atari 8 bit (got more than a few)...I recently have began to read Mapping the Atari and Programming the 6502.....Would these be a decent way to start out or is there some better way....Suggestions?

Thanks

Chris

If you do Java then you're familiar with Eclipse. Get the Wudsn plugin. You'll find it's probably much easier to develop on a PC than on the Atari itself.
I learned 6502 using Atari Roots. It was a good start but really just gets you to the basics. You'll also want to have on hand Mapping the Atari. Then you'll want to read books specific to the area you're interested getting better at, like some of the Comute books and like. I might be one of those people that had some difficultly using the highly praised De Re Atari.