IGNORED

Newbie struggling -> looking for some clarification on YPOS.

Hi,

I am a reasonably experienced developer but totally new to ASM and making games for Atari 2600.

I have decided to tackle this as a bit of a challenge. I specifically want to focus on ASM rather than bB.

I seem to be getting on "ok" with the complex stuff but I am really struggling to visualise how to handle Vertical Positioning. It should be simple enough. I have a hundred examples of working code I can make work but I am not sure I completely understand how the code works.

Can someone help clarify I am on the right track here.

Here is what I think is going on:

*Lets assume my sprite is 20 lines high.

*Lets assume my YPos0 is 80 (from the bottom of the screen)

-- I am looping down through my 192 visible scan lines.

-- On each scan line I am checking of see if we have reached the line where I would like to start to display my sprite.

-- i.e 80+20 being the top of my sprite and 80+1 being the last line.

-- On each of the lines where my sprite intersects the scan line I set the relevant value to GP0 and then when we reach line 79 I set it back to empty.

For some reason in the examples I am working from I can not ever see the calculation / test I am expecting.

in pseudo code I am expecting to see:

if the Current Scanline is equal to or less than YPos0 + Spright Height and Current Scanline is equal to or greater then YPos0 then DRAW THE SPRITE.

Here is one example I have found of code I have running and working but do not understand.

; Get next bitmap byte of sprite 0
        MAC DRAW_SPRITE0
	sec			; ensure carry set for subtraction
	lda #SpriteHeight
        INC YP0
        SBC YP0
        ;isb YP0                 ; INC yp0, then SBC yp0
        tay
        bcs .DoDraw             ; outside bounds?
	lda #0			; clear bitmap
	.byte $2c               ; (BIT aaaa, skips next 2 bytes)
.DoDraw
        lda (SpritePtr0),y	; lookup sprite bitmap
        sta GRP0		; A -> GRP0
        ENDM