IGNORED

Problem with a 2600

Giltygear

Hi, this is my first time posting, so please, be gentle...

Anyway, I had just purchased a 2600 4-switch (model CX2600A) with about 15 games from a freind and was told by them that it worked and that the only thing that it needed was the RF switchbox. I went out a bought the switch box and connected up the system with no problems (no wires came out or anything like that). However, when I turn on the system with some of the games, all I get is a black screen. With other games, I get a rolling picture (no sprites are discernable and no sound is heard). With "Berzerk," I get a flash of the opening screen, then the screen goes to vertical yellow lines.

The system itself is getting power and the switch box works perfectly (I tried it on my freinds 4-switch (same model) and had no problems with it. I'm thinking that it may be a problem with the games and that I need to clean them, or it may be the systems cartridge slot or one of the wires or connectors which lead into that unit. I figured before I take it back to my freind in a fit of blind rage, I would ask the people that actually KNOw what they're doing. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I just got into collecting for the 2600, and like to have working equipment when I sell/trade/buy.

My freind who has the other 4-switch says that it might just be dirty or dusty. A good point, but hopefully I can get a better answer. Thanks.

its the one that came with it - output: 117v, input: 9v (I may have the output/input mixed up, but you get the idea)

my freinds model has a 120v AC, so that might be the problem.

As far as it working then failing, it doesnt work at all, i either get a blank screen, a rolling picture, or those vertical lines

The carts aren't making good contact with the 2600 game connector it sounds like. Also the games probably all need a really good cleaning as does the cart connector it self.

Search the forums for information on doing this very thing.

:)