IGNORED

TI99/4A Black screen and continuous beep sound

repetto74

Hi Guys,

I have received from a friend a TI99/4A he got for a few bucks at a garage sale. The guy was not able to say if the machine was working but due to the really cheap price (10 Euros) he decided to pick it up anyway.

Unfortunately the machine will not boot up. The power light is on but I do see a black screen with a continuous beep sound. Sound pitch may vary on power recycle.

Is there first any tutorial on how to disassemble the TI99? I did repaired some C64 and VIC20 but this one is new for me. I tried to open the case but then leave it as a small PCB inside was attached apparently to both top and bottom cases so did not want to brake it of course. Before doing any stupid thing better to have a tutorial for this one :-)

Then concerning the fault where I should start to look at? I have some good experience in soldering/unsoldering + all tools needed.

The PSU has been tested working on another TI99 (my machine) so not at fault.

Thanks

Rick

Edited by repetto74

Hi Classic GMR

Thanks for the disassembling guide this is just what I was looking for :D . Also found a thread with same symptoms as mine : http://atariage.com/forums/topic/172939-ti-994a-console-not-working-anymore/

I will start some troubleshooting then. Hope maybe this will be only a RAM fault which can be easily repaired :thumbsup:

I have disassembled the TI99/4A and have some findings. What I did first is to clean of course the machine from dust. Then what I did was to remove all IC's socketed and to clean legs with light sand paper + alcohol. There are not so many chips with socket (the two with thermal paste I cannot identify and 4 IC's located on top of the CPU (video ram??)). Also cleaned the module connector pins with sandpaper and alcohol.