IGNORED

Should I Learn To Program the Atari 8-Bit and 16/32-Bit Computers?

pixelmischief

I am a career application developer working to make the transition to programmer. To this end, I am learning all of the comp-sci stuff; algorithms, data structures, Turing's work, systems architecture, compilers, etc. Given my stated goal, would there be any real value in learning to program the 8-bit and 16/32-bit Atari computers? It is something I have always wanted to do, but never got around to. And now that time is at such a premium in my life, I want to be certain that doing so would be more than a mere novelty. Would it offer real benefit and insight to my aforementioned endeavors?

Edited by pixelmischief

Going from old to new:

You might learn techinques to be conservative with memory usage or execution times, but then again on systems with gigabytes of RAM and fast, multiple cores where you will want to do a threaded application most of that is redudant or not applicable.

Going from new to old:

Some of the algorithm and data structure concepts will apply even to 8-bit stuff, though the programming languages and methods will be different from what today is state of the trade. The newer Atari stuff you're getting into, the more alike modern tools it will become.

If you're thinking from a career perspective, a very small amount of people today get hired and can make a living on programming games for older systems while many do it on their spare time and sometimes even get commercially published, though usually not making a load of money from that. If you have had a dream about making your own programs, you might as well want to try it if time permits.