IGNORED

Intellivision Trak Ball

adamchevy

I apologize if this topic has been addressed many times before. When I get back into a console and start to acquire new hardware I go down a mental checklist of things I would like to have. Im really surprised that the Intellivision doesnt have a Trak ball like the VCS. Did the Intellivision ever have a Trak Ball? Has anyone ever modified one to use with the intellivision? I can imagine their being a thread like the Atari has of Hacked/Modified games that take full advantage of a Trak Ball. Im not an intellivision expert(a newb really) ,but understanding that the original controller has 16 directions I can see a Trak Ball being very useful for some games. Anyway, just something that I have wondered about for a few days.

Edited by adamchevy

There has been no trackball, nor paddle, for the Intellivision. I'm not familiar w/ the Atari VCS hardware, but didn't it support analog as well as digital inputs? The Intellivision doesn't, so to implement this would require at the minimum some kind of A/D converter, or perhaps a rotational encoder type of digital input. Then you need games written specifically for the new input data - or hacks of existing ones... Some candidates could be Centipede, Astrosmash, Brickout, Vectron ... heck lots of them!

• Like 1